Label: Brainfeeder Artist: Thundercat
Treck list:
  • 01. Rabbot Ho
  • 02. Captain Stupido
  • 03. Uh Uh
  • 04. Bus In These Streets
  • 05. A Fans Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
  • 06. Lava Lamp
  • 07. Jethro
  • 08. Day & Night
  • 09. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
  • 10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
  • 11. Blackkk
  • 12. Tokyo
  • 13. Jameels Space Ride
  • 14. Friend Zone
  • 15. Them Changes
Download: GoodUser

It's "be nice" day today at the towers, people are emptying bins and dishwashers for each other and even Li'l Biz popped in to join in the fun. Maybe it's all because we were listening to this silky smooth release from Thundercat who Li'l Biz insists is still only 23. Those chops! Sure to bring good vibes to a room.

There's some particularly playful moments on this Thundercat's third. 'Captain Stupido' is ridiculous. Kind of a lo-fi jazz ditty with humorous lyrics about brushing your teeth and your beard until finally Thundercat falls asleep and realises he's left his wallet at the club. It gets dafter....'Uh uh' is a preposterous jazz odyssey somewhere between Weather Report, Jaco Pastorius and Manhattan Transfer. This new playfulness neutralises the often chin noodling world of jazz funk. Thundercat's sky high falsetto laments technology on 'Bus in these Streets' ("where would we be if we couldn't tweet our thoughts"). At one point he starts miaowing. That's not going to get annoying after a few listens.