Label: Capitol Artist: Sam Smith
Treck list:
  • 01. Lay Me Down (Flume Remix)
Download: GoodUser

Sam Smith’s too-sad-to-be-true-love ballads dominated last year, but it’s always when his brocade voice is paired with equally meticulous beats and synths that his songs get under your skin. “Latch” is what introduced him to the world, courtesy of Disclosure’s itchy house production, but most of In The Lonely Hour stuck to bare bones piano tracks. In its original form “Lay Me Down” was another of those sparse, marriage-is-a-funeral songs, but thanks to Flume’s effervescent, distorted remix the track is taking on new life. In the new version, Smith’s pain comes to us through layers and layers of electronic noise, a lost astronaut in a galaxy of soft-colliding synthesizers and asteroids. Listen below.