Label: Ghostly International Artist: Lusine
Treck list:
  • 01. Not Alone (ft. Jenn Champion)
  • 02. Turn Back
  • 03. Step On (ft. CIFIKA)
  • 04. Retrace
Download: GoodUser

Repetition is learning. Retrace, the new EP from Jeff McIlwain aka Lusine, moves along this line of thought, reflecting the Texas-raised/Seattle-based producer’s recurrent, iteration-embracing approach to music-making and living. Following 2017 full-length Sensorimotor, which explored the body’s instinct versus the brain’s intent, this introverted 4-tracker finds McIlwain just as kinetically-curious. Balancing focused programming with washy, less concrete sonics, Retrace plays with the unexpected by drawing from slight variations on the same idea.