Label: Orange Milk Artist: Koeosaeme
Treck list:
  • 01. Polyhedra
  • 02. Azimuth
  • 03. M-Face
  • 04. Inverse
  • 05. Meat Texture
  • 06. Ellissi
  • 07. Synched
  • 08. XZ
  • 09. Point
  • 10. Masked
  • 11. Imiaru
  • 12. Shadow
  • 13. Remind
Download: GoodUser

Koeosaeme is Japanese artist Ryu Yoshizawa, and OBANIKESHI, his second album for Orange Milk, is a master class in how to engineer a compelling sound-design record front to back. Utilizing a variety of recorded instruments and hi-fidelity electronics, OBANIKESHI can be linked to multiple musical lineages; the screeching strings, whispered vocals, and moments of atonality recall famous works of 20th century composers like Gy├Ârgy Ligeti and Krzysztof Penderecki, while sections of manic synthetic noise bring to mind tape-collage composer Noah Creshevsky and more recent Japanese underground artists Foodman, toiret status, Seiho, and others.